Surviving the First Day

It’s the first day of your new internship. How are you feeling? Nervous? Apprehensive? Excited? Confident?

It’s totally normal to feel all of these feelings. I’ve never met anyone who wasn’t a little nervous or anxious about starting a new job. I remember the first day I started my internship. I was super nervous, but once I got there and met everyone I knew that I would love coming to work every day.

Here’s a list of things to remember for the first day of your internship.

  1. Be on time. On your first day, you don’t want to show up late. If you aren’t sure how long it will take you because of rush hour to get there on time then leave even earlier. You would rather be there early than late. By showing up late, it’s going to come off as if you don’t care. On my first day, I showed up about 25 minutes early. Even though this was super early, I was able to use this time to relax. I used this time to think about any questions I had for my boss.
  2. Dress professionally. You should always dress professionally the first day. If you are told to dress casual, I would still dress professionally. You don’t know what that company defines as casual or professional. So until you know and see what other people are wearing, dress professionally.  I was told to dress business professional for work, but when I got there I found out there they dressed more casual than professional. Check out this link to get some ideas on what to wear.
  3. Ask questions. There’s no such thing as a stupid question. You may not be the only one questioning something. By you asking the question, you could be helping other people out too. On the first day, you are learning the ropes and going over the handbook. If you have questions about anything, now is the time to ask.
  4. Take notes. While you’re going over the handbook, it’s okay to take notes. It’s actually encouraged. This shows your boss or supervisor that you’re listening. This isn’t just something you should do for the first day. You should do it anytime you have/attend a meeting.

These are just a few of the things that will help you survive the first day of your first internship. These shouldn’t just apply to your first day but to every day.

Check out these websites for more advice on how to survive your first day.

DO you think having your phone out during work is okay? Click this link to read why you shouldn’t have your phone out.

Check out her campus and read about why you should get to know people at work.

Thanks for reading my first blog! What are some things that you guys want to read about? Leave a comment in the comments section I’ll make sure to blog about it!

 

 

Leave a comment